Energy Media Group has in collaboration with GP Business launched the Ghana Energy Awards.

The awards are aimed at recognizing outstanding industry players in the Oil and Gas industry and the power sector in general.

Launching the event, Dr Kwame Ampofo, chairman of Ghana Energy Commission, expressed optimism that the Energy awards would lead to the  endorsement of the country’s energy sector.

The Managing Partner at GP Business, Mr. Nicholas Frimpong-Manso disclosed that nominations for the awards started on September 1, 2017 and it is scheduled to end on September 30, 2017.

In his contribution, Mr. Henry Teinor,  Chief Executive Officer of Energy Media Group stated that the Awards would honour industry gurus who have played significant roles in the growth of the power sector and in the oil and gas industry.

‘The oil and gas upstream, midstream and downstream players, and power sector players would form a core part of the prospective awardees in the final event fixed for November 30 this year”, he said.

The event is scheduled to recognize players who have excelled in 20 different categories in the power sector. Some of the awards are Energy Personality of the Year, Best Energy Reporter of the Year, Industry Leadership Award and Renewable Energy Company of the Year.

Others are Energy Institution of the Year, Innovation Project of the Year, Rising Star Award, Emerging Energy Company of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Awarding panel is chaired by Dr Kwame Ampofo an Energy Expert. Other panel members include former Rector of GIMPA Professor Stephen Adei, Prof Felix Asante, Director, Institute of Statistical, Social and Economic Research, ISSER, University of Ghana, Dr Lawrence Tetteh, Vice Chairman of Public Interest Accountability Committee, Mr. Kwame Jantuah, Ag Director at the Centre for Management Development, Dr Jemimah, Senior Professor Oil and Gas Studies, UCC, Mr. Joseph Aggrey-Fynn , Energy Consultant and Mrs. Harriett Amissah-Arthur.

The Senior Minister and Ministers of Trade and Lands and Natural Resources, as well as diplomats and top energy sector personalities are expected to be acknowledged during the ceremony.

Latest News